• The Ham Bridge, Ballina
  • Sunday, July 8, 2pm sharp now moved to Thursday, July 12, 6pm sharp
  • Registration:
    • Swim Ireland non-members: €15 (w/ €1 booking)
    • Swim Ireland members: €5  (w/ €0.50 booking)
      • Swim Ireland members must produce their member card (digital copy is fine) showing their member number.
  • Online below (until 9am that day), or between 5 – 5:30pm on the day.
  • Ages 14+ (ID required)

One of the oldest river swims in Ireland, the Moy Swim started in Ballina back in the 1950’s and was held for many years. The original swim started at the famous salmon weirs and swimmers would dive in there and swim to St. Muredach’s College.

The current Ballina Salmon Festival chairman, Billy Lewis is a past winner of the Moy Swim, and we are proud to revive the swim as part of Ballina Salmon Festival 2018.

The late Liam Molloy was a stalwart in swimming in Ballina and organised many galas at the old Swimming Pool in Bunree. He ran the swim for many years and there were many great battles for first place. Swimmers like Barry McHale, Dickie Cooke, Donal McEllin and Tommy Gawley battled it out many times.

The original cup, known as ‘The Bishop’s Cup’ was presented to the Ballina Swimming Club by the late Bishop O’Boyle many years ago. Peter Lowry was the last winner and has held the trophy all these years. Our thanks to Peter for generously returning it for this year’s Moy Swim.

The swim will start at the Ham Bridge at the bottom of Ardnaree and will finish at the steps at Bachelors Walk with first, second and third prizes for men and women. We’re looking forward to big turnout and a great race.

Register for the Moy Swim